Yoga Freedom


December 1 – Palabra (Word)

Encapsulate your 2011 in one word. Why that word? What would you like your word to be for 2012? Why?
o
“Consciousness is only possible through change; change is only possible through movement.” ~Aldous HuxleyThe Art of Seeing
v
2011 was saturated with intention. I decided, in late 2010, that intention is essential: the willingness to try, the meaning to do something. The intention to meditate is far more important than the technique used or the technicalities of what did or didn’t occur during a meditation session. Likewise, the intention to practice yoga with mindfulness & metta is enough. (As long as you actually do it!) And I actually did it! I practiced more regularly and devotedly than ever before. Intentions were manifested!
x
My word for 2012 is MOVEMENT. Movimiento.  The act or process of moving; especially change of place or position or posture. A tactical or strategic shifting. A series of organized activities working toward an objective.  The vibrant quality in literature that comes from elements that hold a reader’s interest. Voiding the bowels. Movement.
Plates are shifting. Energy is in constant motion. I will relocate to the other side of the planet in 2012. I am going to leave Guatemala City and settle in another international city, to be determined, though most likely in the Eastern hemisphere. But no matter where I am, I will continue to devote myself to The Movement: practicing, modeling, spreading, facilitating, teaching, and sharing yoga, creativity & mindfulness! Let’s get moving!
x
“All that is important is this one moment in movement. Make the moment important, vital, and worth living. Do not let it slip away unnoticed and unused.” ~Martha Graham

Published by


Responses

  1. Kim Manley Ort (@kimmanleyort)

    My word for 2011 was fearless. Fear for me leads to inaction, and I made some major strides this year in moving past my fears into action – thanks especially to Tara Sophia Mohr’s Playing Big program. December 1st reminds me, though, that there are a few areas where I am still stuck in fear and need to make a move. My word for 2012 is change and it is funny that you quoted Aldous Huxley in saying that change is only possible through movement, because we will be moving in 2012. Thanks for the prompt.

  2. Kimber Lail-Caldwell

    I re-read my “Word” post from 2010. How interesting to look back a year. Here is my post:
    http://bit.ly/udCcXg

  3. Robin

    Such a vibrant, striking photograph and beautiful post! I briefly studied Graham technique in London during my former life as a contemporary dancer. Movement is a fabulous metaphor and way of living life, one I relate very much to. My word for 2011 is wings. I’m sure I’m not alone in my pursuit to fly! Best wishes for #reverb11.

  4. jeffreydavis11

    Each New Year’s Eve, my wife gives me an I Ching reading (she’s a master of Chinese Medicine) for the coming year. For 2011, the reading was RADIANCE. That word played as a reminder throughout what was a remarkable year of growth, externally and internally and in between. I’m not sure yet what word will shape 2012. I’ll dream on it this month and await my reading. Peace.

  5. Cynthia

    Just wrote my post … which ended up being an answer to day two question more than day one:
    http://onevoiceis.blogspot.com/2011/12/reberb11-palabra-word.html

  6. jjoneshoops
  7. Happy 2012 Holidaze! « Yoga Freedom Blog

    […] part of #reverb11, in December 2011, I chose the word “movement” as my key word for 2012. And it truly has been a huge year of movement in many […]

Leave a comment